Find out how to keep your visits to the Her Justice website private by deleting your internet history, cookies and clearing the search in your toolbar. 

Cover your tracks online

If you are worried about someone knowing you have visited this website, please read the following safety information.

Find out how to keep your visits to the Her Justice website private by deleting your internet history, cookies and clearing the search in your toolbar. If you want to be completely sure of not being tracked online, use a computer that’s not in your home, for example at a library or a friend’s house.

‘Leave Now’ button –  What’s this?

If you click on this button it will immediately take you away from the Her Justice website to Google’s weather page. If you are using a computer in a public place, or somewhere that someone might see which website you are visiting, you can use this button to hide what you are doing quickly.

Important: Remember someone can still press the back button on your browser to see which site you were visiting, so if you want to hide your visit completely, you should close your browser by pressing the ‘X’ button in the top right-hand corner of your page and clear your internet history and cookies.

How can I hide my visits to the Her Justice website?

When you visit websites, your browser remembers lots of information including which sites you’ve been to, what you’ve downloaded, and much more. This is called your internet history. If you do not want other people to see what site you’ve been looking at, this page tells you how to clear your history.

There two things you need to do to clear your history:

  • Delete all cookies
  • Delete all the websites in your history folder.

Don’t worry, deleting these isn’t difficult – Just follow the steps on this page for your browser.

What is Private Browsing and how does it help?

This is the best option if you want to visit a site in private but don’t have the time, or often forget to delete your history afterward. It covers your tracks whilst you browse instead of you having to delete everything after you have finished. 

If you want to go on the internet without storing any information you can use private browsing. Private browsing is when your browser (e.g. Firefox, Chrome or Internet Explorer) does not save any history, cookies or temporary files while you are looking at a website.

Please remember, if you want to download any files or create bookmarks, make sure you clear your history as well as, even in private browsing, these could be still saved.

  • Chrome: Click the Menu button with three horizontal lines/dots and select “New Incognito Window”
  • Internet Explorer: Go to Safety – Tools – “InPrivate Browsing”
  • Firefox: Click the Menu button with three horizontal lines – “New Private Window”
  • Similar options can be found in Opera, Edge, Safari and all modern web browsers.

We’d also advise you to check that nothing has been stored by following the steps below.

How do I know which browser I’m using?

Usually, you can find this information within the top bar of your browser by clicking on the menu item marked with either three horizontal dots or three vertical lines. Then looking at either Help, About or Options.

A quicker and simpler way to check is to click this link https://whatbrowser.org/

How do I delete data from my browser?

For help deleting data from your browser, follow the instructions below:

Google Chrome

If you are using Google Chrome

  • Open Google Chrome
  • Click on the Chrome menu icon in the top right-hand corner (three lines)
  • Select ‘Tools’
  • Select ‘Clear browsing data’
  • A pop-up window will appear. Choose a time range to clear from the drop-down list. For example, the ‘Last Four Hours’
  • Tick all of the boxes
  • Click ‘Clear browsing data’.

Firefox

If you are using Firefox

  • At the top of the window click on the Firefox button and go to the History menu
  • Click on ‘Clear Recent History’. If you’re using XP: Select the Tools menu and click on Clear Recent History
  • A pop-up window will appear. Choose a time range to clear from the drop-down list. For example, the ‘Last Four Hours’
  • Click on ‘Clear Now’.

Internet Explorer 10

If you are using Internet Explorer 10

  • Move the mouse pointer to the right-hand side of the page to bring up a side panel.
  • Click on the Settings icon (looks like a gear) and select Internet Options
  • Go to the Safety menu and select Delete.

Internet Explorer 9

If you are using Internet Explorer 9

  • Click on the ‘gear’ icon in the top right-hand corner and select Internet Options
  • In the General page under Browser History, select the Delete button
  • Tick each box: Temporary Internet files, Cookies, History, Download History, form data, Passwords, InPrivate Filtering data.
    Un-tick the ‘Preserve Favourites website data’
  • Select Delete to clear everything.

Internet Explorer 7 and 8

If you are using Internet Explorer 7 or 8 go to the menu bar at the top of the page.

  • Click on the Tools menu and select Internet Options
  • In the General page under Browser History, select the Delete button
  • Either select and delete each section: Temporary internet files; Cookies, History; Form data and Passwords. or Select the Delete all button at the bottom to clear everything.

Internet Explorer 6

If you are using Internet Explorer 6 go to the menu bar at the top of the page.

  • Click on Tools
  • Go to the bottom of the drop-down menu and click on Internet options. This will open a box with the names of several different sections along the top. You will already be in the section called General
  • In the middle of this box is a section called Temporary Internet Files. Click on the button marked Delete files
  • When the box pops up, tick the Delete all offline content box and then click OK
  • When your computer finishes deleting your temporary internet files, you will be back in the General Internet Options box
  • Look at the section below-called History. Here you can click on the Clear History button
  • A dialogue box will ask you if you want to delete all items in your history folder. Click Yes
  • Click OK to close the Internet Options box.

Safari (Mac)

If you are using Safari on a Mac computer

  • Resetting Safari clears the history and cookies but also clears the downloads and removes any saved user names and passwords or other AutoFill data and clears Google/Yahoo search entries.

To do this:

  • Go to the Safari menu at top left-hand screen
  • Choose and click Reset Safari

Disclaimer: While we have taken every care in providing this guidance information, we would advise visitors to check the most up-to-date and relevant information for their own browser and to familiarize themselves with how their browser works to be certain that they hide their tracks.

Information on hiding your browsing history can be found on Google